Gay Marriage Is Good For America Essay

Gay Marriage Is Good For America Essay

Length: 1508 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

On June 26, 2015, the US Supreme Court ruled that the US Constitution guarantees the right for same-sex couples to marry. Many conservative groups do NOT agree with this decision. The gay marriage debate has been simmering for as long as I can remember. The four articles I have selected give information from four different perspectives including that of liberals, conservatives, homosexuals, and orthodox Jews. With so many differing opinions, one can understand why it's been so hard for the nation to come to agree on this issue.
In an article titled "Witch Hunt in the Golden State", David N. Bass sheds light on on his opinion that same-sex marriage activists are using nonsensical methods of defending their case. According to the article, the US 9th Circuit of Appeals received a request from two homosexual couples that would force the campaigners againt gay marriage to make their private communications during the campaign available to the public. This, an attorney for the two homosexual couples believes, would make it apparent that the campaign against same sex marriage used an unfair method of invoking fear that both traditional marriage and society as a whole would collapse if gay marriage were allowed. On the other hand, attorneys for the advocates of traditional marriage believe that being forced to give out their internal communications during the Proposition 8 campaign would be an infringement on the freedom of speech and the unwritten rules of politics. The author goes on to say that gay marriage activists are being hypocritical because they too have had their share of "unfair" political campaigning methods. He states that the Proposition 8 campaign was remarkably open, and that all of their methodologies for f...


... middle of paper ...


...y 42 years ago when I person was not allowed to marry another person because of they were a different race. The thought of restricting marriage on the basis of race is completely unimaginable today. And 42 years from, now, I hope the thought of restricting marriage on the basis of sexual orientation is also unfathomable.


WORKS CITED




Works Cited

Bass, David. "Witch Hunt in the Golden State." Spectator.org. 7 December 2009.
Spectator, Web. 9 Dec 2009.

Mulvihall, Geoff. "Rabbis, heterosexuals join in NJ gay marriage debate." Townhall.com. 01 December 2009.
  Townhall, Web. 9 Dec 2009.

Rauch, Jonathan. "Gay Marriage Is Good for America." Wall Street Journal (2008): n. pag. Web. 9 Dec 2009.

Daum, Meghan. "John Marcotte: defending marriage by denying divorce." LATimes.com. 9 December 2009.
LA Times, Web . 9 Dec 2009

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay America Needs Gay Marriage

- “When I meet gay and lesbian couples, when I meet same-sex couples, and I see how caring they are, how much love they have in their hearts, how they're taking care of their kids, when I hear from them the pain they feel that somehow they are still considered less than full citizens when it comes to their legal rights, then, for me, I think it just has tipped the scales in that direction." - Barack Obama As of date, Homosexual marriage has been legalized in 16 states with 33 states banning the form of marriage with constitutional amendments or laws....   [tags: Same-Sex Marriage Essays]

Free Essays
1950 words (5.6 pages)

Essay about America Needs Gay Marriage and Same-sex Adoption

- Families gather together in their backyards to celebrate America’s birth and get ready to light fireworks. Children chatter excitedly to themselves as their fathers bring out the cases of fireworks bought from the local grocery store. Mothers talk among themselves, stirring their glasses of lemonade absently. This picture, so common in society, will sound unfamiliar to very few. Every year, on July 4th, Americans commemorate the birth of their prestigious country; yet a question arises as to whether or not they remember what they are truly celebrating....   [tags: Gay Rights, Lesbian Rights]

Powerful Essays
1484 words (4.2 pages)

Essay about Gay and Lesbian Marriage

- Gay and Lesbian Marriage Andrew Sullivan and William Bennett argue profusely on the subject that is in almost every American’s mind, whether or not to civically let gays marry. Between Sullivan’s article “Let Gays Marry” and Bennett’s article, “Leave marriage alone, they pretty much sum up both sides of the argument. Andrew Sullivan, the editor of The New Republic and author of Virtually Normal: An argument about Homosexuality, discusses why gays should be allowed to marry. William Bennett, the editor of The Book of Virtues, and co-director of Empower America, responses to Sullivan’s piece....   [tags: Gay Lesbian Marriage Essays]

Powerful Essays
515 words (1.5 pages)

Essay about The Article ' Against Gay Marriage

- Rights Versus Wrong In the article, “Against Gay Marriage,” author William Bennett asserts that permitting same-sex marriages would result in extensive social damage. He states that marriage serves as the cornerstone of societal structure. He envisions that societal indifference on marriages will leave future generations in a state of identity confusion. Representing a different perspective, the article “American Marriage in Transition,” composed by Andrew J. Cherlin suggests that as the practical necessity of marriage diminishes, its symbolic importance may be increasing....   [tags: Same-sex marriage, Homosexuality, Marriage]

Powerful Essays
1084 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Gay Marriage Should NOT Be Legal

- The Supreme Court of the United States ruled that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. Is this a good thing. The legalization of gay or lesbian marriage has been a touchy subject for some time now some say it should be and some say that it shouldn't be legal. The subject should not be taken lightly and should require most some serious thought as to which side they choose to be on. Most people have a hard time with this subject because of long term moral debates they have with themselves because maybe they have family members that choose this lifestyle or may actually be considering it themselves....   [tags: Same-Sex Marriage Essays]

Powerful Essays
1054 words (3 pages)

Essay on Gay Marriage Should Be Legal

- Gay Marriage Gay marriage has become one of the most widely debated issues in today’s society. Prior to this past summer, 37 out of 50 U.S. states allowed gay marriages to take place. However, on June 26, 2015, it was determined by the Supreme Court that the U.S. Constitution guarantees the right for same-sex couples to get married in in all fifty states of the United States of America. This single act put most of religious America in an uproar. Nevertheless, all heterosexuals are not against homosexuals....   [tags: Homosexuality, Same-sex marriage]

Powerful Essays
1869 words (5.3 pages)

Gay Marriage Should Be Legal Essay

- Ive always considered myself a moderate in more situations than just politics, but for the sake of this assignment I will call myself a Democrat. I believe in a lot of things similar to that of a Democrat. Im pro-choice, I believe gay marriage should be legal, and I support their healthcare policies. I believe Obamacare was a good decision for this Nation. I think everyone should be partially taken care of by this country. At the least, have healthcare guaranteed to them. I think that women should be the only people with a say of what happens to their bodies....   [tags: Same-sex marriage, Homosexuality, Democratic Party]

Powerful Essays
944 words (2.7 pages)

Gay Marriage Should NOT Be Legal Anywhere Essay

- The Supreme Court of the United States recently ruled that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. Is this a good thing. The legalization of gay or lesbian marriage has become a hugely controversial subject with some saying it should and some say it should not be legal. This subject should not be taken lightly and it’s legalization should require some serious thought. Many people have a hard time with this subject because of the fact that homosexuality has been considered immoral or “sinful” throughout human history....   [tags: Same-Sex Marriage Essays]

Powerful Essays
1166 words (3.3 pages)

Essay about Gay Marriage Rights

- ... I think we should rebuild the country on a new foundation with a few changes, but for the most part, the same traditional principles. The United States has come a very long way in its young life, and it still has a lot of growing up to do and it needs to adjust to this ever changing world. Our society should come to our senses and start giving gays the rights they deserve. There are some major benefits to being married to someone, mainly the social and health benefits. Married couples are healthier, happier and enjoy longer lives than those who are not married....   [tags: legalization of homosexual marriage]

Powerful Essays
982 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about The Same Sex Marriage Debate

- The Same Sex Marriage Debate The controversial debate over whether same sex marriage should be legalized has gained a lot of attention in recent years and there are strong arguments for each side of the issue. There are many different factors that must be looked at when considering same-sex marriage. A marriage is not something that is just slapped on a piece of paper to show a couple's love; it involves legal, social, economic, and spiritual issues. Throughout this essay, I intend to focus on all of the issues just mentioned, and how all of these issues are interrelated in some way, shape or form....   [tags: Gay Marriage ]

Powerful Essays
1640 words (4.7 pages)